Webinar on Impacts of Sea Level Rise on National Parks by Rebecca Beavers and Courtney Schupp of the US National Park Service

Submitted by sdcarr on Thu, 08/08/2013 - 3:01pm
::
Date: 
Thursday, November 14, 2013

Thursday, November 14, 1 pm EST/10 am PST/6 pm GMT

 

Webinar on Impacts of Sea Level Rise on National Parks by
Rebecca Beavers and Courtney Schupp of the US National Park Service.
Climate change and
sea level rise will challenge National Park efforts to protect natural and
cultural resources and to provide visitor access and recreational
opportunities.  Learn how several national parks are addressing these
challenges: collecting baseline data on archaeological sites that are
vulnerable to rising water levels and associated changes in biological activity
and visitor use; incorporating barrier island processes into long-term
development plans including visitor facilities; and engaging in a regional
multi-agency effort to restore coastal areas impacted by a major hurricane.
Webinar co-hosted by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, OpenChannels.org, and EcoAdapt. Register
for the webinar at
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/846023408.